Tofu Tuesday, a day late

Breakfast casserole for #tofutuesday
Breakfast casserole for #tofutuesday
I was thinking of making breakfast burritos on Monday night, but opted for this easier-sounding breakfast casserole. Plus I just really, really wanted to try the “Mom’s Morning Casserole” from the Vegan Brunch Cookbook.

I did make a few adjustments on this recipe. I pre-boiled the potatoes so they were already tender, so I just layered them in the bottom of the casserole dish. Then I layered the other layers on top without baking anything, and I baked it the next morning for about 45 minutes total. That went well. 

The other major change I made was that I didn’t have tempeh, so I used TVP (textured vegetable protein). I reconstituted it with some broth I had on hand and a little water. I also didn’t have any fennel to add. 

DH and I really liked it!

And so far, all the recipes from Vegan Brunch have been incredible. I’m so pleased with the book, and totally recommend it!

Published in: on August 19, 2009 at 10:00 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/08/19/tofu-tuesday-a-day-late/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yum, that looks really good. I am always looking for new and different recipes. Thanks for sharing!
    Toni

  2. [...] days. This week, we are enjoying a breakfast casserole. I cook vegan vegetarian food, and the breakfast casserole has a layer of potatoes, vege-meat (which, for those of you vegetarians who would care, is made out [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

