A peek into my day

YLCF Blog Carnival

Hi there. I’m Joelle. I am a Christian who has been reading YLCF ever since… um, it was in paper form. I used to have a little magazine/newsletter and I first met Gretchen via an editor’s e-mail list. Anyway, I have been married to my best friend (known as DH for dear husband on this blog) for two years. He is a physician. I work at a Christian nonprofit organization in marketing and public relations. That said, here is what my day usually looks like.

I generally wake up at 6 a.m. Depending on whether I am really sleepy or not, I will shower first to keep myself awake for devotions. I have devotions on the futon in the living room. I generally read the Bible or another spiritual book. By the time I finish devotions and shower/ getting ready for the day, it is usually 6:50 or 7 a.m. I wake up my husband, and proceed to get breakfast on the table.

For breakfast during the week, I try to make something that can be eaten for several days. This week, we are enjoying a breakfast casserole. I cook vegan vegetarian food, and the breakfast casserole has a layer of potatoes, vege-meat (which, for those of you vegetarians who would care, is made out of textured vegetable protein and seasonings), and scrambled seasoned tofu. De-lish! Some weeks I have pancakes, waffles, or toast with fruit on top for one or more of the breakfasts. Sometimes I make muslei out of oatmeal, fruit juice, coconut and nuts or seeds. Sometimes I make a cold rice with fruit and cream breakfast. I try to avoid doing cold cereal unless I’m having a really crazy week. Cold cereal and milk can be expensive if you are trying to eat more healthy types of cereal.

At the same time as breakfast is warming up, I make our salads to go in our sack lunches. This post shows how I do it. Our sack lunches consist of leftovers from the weekend. (I try to make several entrees over the weekend so that we can enjoy leftovers during the week for our sack lunches.) So much better than eating sandwiches every single day! I place the entree and side vegetable in a glass pyrex dish with a lid. I include napkins and utensils so DH and I won’t have to worry about chasing down utensils or napkins in the break room at work.

We eat breakfast together around 7:15 or 7:20, and DH reads a devotional book to me for family worship while I munch. We pray together, and then shortly, I have to run to work. (He also goes to work but his office is closer to home than mine is.)

I spend the rest of the day (8-6, basically, because I work only 4 days a week, Monday through Thursday) at work doing what needs to be done in graphics, writing, or other jobs.

At 6 p.m., I head home. I make a light supper of sandwiches, pizza, or soup, and catch up with DH about his day. We usually do our own things for a couple of hours in the evening, whether watching the news on the internet (we don’t have a TV) or catching up on Facebook, blog reading, etc. Or I have to cook or clean, although I do most of my cooking and cleaning on the weekends.

At the end of the day, we spend time together and have worship together as a couple again. And then I fall asleep, usually sometime between 9:30 and 10:30 p.m.

So that, my friends, is my plain ol’, same ol’, ordinary day. Hope you enjoyed it! =)

Published in: on October 28, 2009 at 3:49 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/10/28/a-peek-into-my-day/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sometimes plain and ordinary is good – you appreciate the small things! That’s really cool you’ve been reading YLCF so long – I found it within the last year or so, I think.

  2. Yes, I enjoyed reading about your day. But more than that, I love the fact that your name is Joelle. Of course you had nothing to do with that, but as my cousin Joelle is the only Joelle I have ever met, finding you on the internet is fascinating. =)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

