Help for the upcoming flu season – part 1

Flu season is coming up very soon! Are you ready to prepare your family?

Of course, the media is already very ready to encourage families to prepare. CNN says that all children 6 months to 18 years should receive the flu vaccine. They are more likely to come down with flu than adults. Now, my point is not to elaborate on whether or not your kid should get a flu vaccine. I’m not a parent. I’m not a medical professional. It’s up to you. I believe it’s your choice on whether or not to get vaccines.

My husband is a physician so he gets the flu shot. (But in my memory, last season, although he got the flu shot, he still got sick. I did too, but not as much. His defends himself, saying that he’s around sick people all the time. I think he should, of course, seeing that he’s around sick people all the time. But me? My coworkers come to work sick, too! What am I supposed to do? I’m not convinced I want to break down and get a vaccine yet.)

But I do want to talk about helping your immunity during the upcoming flu season. So in an upcoming series we’re going to talk about:

  1. Immunity. What can we do to help our white blood cells? (Also known as phagocytes.)
  2. Cleanliness and the five-second rule.
  3. Simple remedies to help you if you come down with the flu or cold. 
I believe there’s a time to visit the doctor (of course, or folks like my husband wouldn’t have a job). BUT there’s so much that you can do at home to alleviate flu symptoms. I believe that tylenol, antibiotics, and decongestants have their place. But I think that they can be overused, and I know wonderful herbs and natural remedies such as hydrotherapy are available. And we’re going to look into some of those wonderful remedies in the next few weeks!
Published in: on September 27, 2008 at 9:02 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2008/09/27/help-for-the-upcoming-flu-season-part-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

