Menu Plan Monday – Week of October 19

As I write, I’ve got a nice loaf of whole wheat bread baking in my oven. Mmmm. This time, I decided to try molasses as the sweetener instead of honey. The result seems to be a much darker loaf. Molasses is a delicious sweetener that is high in iron and calcium. I’m looking forward to trying out the bread and seeing how it is this time! I’ve enjoyed this particular recipe several times in the last few weeks. Other recipes I hope to share soon include whole wheat basil bread. Now THAT is good stuff!

So, I’ve been really busy lately, but here’s my menu plan for this week. (As usual, I plan the menu on Thursday so I can go grocery shopping on the way home from work. We also tend to eat pretty light suppers, so that’s why they’re not extremely structured. I also hate cooking during the week, so I try to cook enough possibilities over the weekend so we can munch on leftovers through the week.)

Friday:

  • Cereal, milk, fruit for breakfast
  • This lunch ended up being much lighter that I’d intended because I got some fillings at the dentist, so we ended up swapping my lunch plan for supper plan. Hubby brought home a sandwich and I ended up drinking juice and eating soy yogurt. 
  • Supper: Salad, tater tot casserole, apple cranberry crisp

Saturday

  • B-fast: Cereal, milk, grapefruit
  • Lunch: Spaghetti, salad, whole wheat basil garlic bread, corn, leftover apple cranberry crisp
  • Supper: Tofu noodle soup (like chicken noodle only I used tofu), corn muffins
Sunday
  • Breakfast: Baked oatmeal, grapes
  • Lunch: Gado gado (an Indonesian one-meal dish made of a layer of brown rice, cooked veggies – I used potatoes, carrots, and green beans – with a peanut sauce on top) and salad; leftover apple cranberry crisp
  • Dinner: Apples and zucchini bread
  • Bake whole wheat bread to last the week
Monday:
  • Breakfast: fruit and rice (fruit mixed with rice with a cream sauce)
  • Lunch: hubby gets lunch at the hospital cafeteria where he works; I take leftovers from the weekend for my lunch.
  • Supper: Sandwiches – using leftover tofu from Saturday night – make “tofu-egg-salad” sandwiches
Tuesday:
  • Breakfast: leftover fruit and rice (fruit mixed with rice with a cream sauce)
  • Lunch: hubby gets lunch at the hospital cafeteria where he works; I take leftovers from the weekend for my lunch.
  • Supper: leftover spaghetti
Wednesday:
  • Breakfast: slow cooker hot cereal with dried fruit and date sauce
  • Lunch: hubby gets lunch at the hospital cafeteria where he works; I take leftovers from the weekend for my lunch.
  • Supper: leftover tofu noodle soup, corn muffins
Thursday:
  • Breakfast: leftover slow cooker hot cereal with dried fruit and date sauce
  • Lunch: hubby gets lunch at the hospital cafeteria where he works; I take leftovers from the weekend for my lunch.
  • Supper: sandwiches – using sandwich slices from freezer
So, that’s my menu plan for this week! We’re pretty simple… it’s just my hubby and me, but we try to eat healthfully, economically, and simply. 
For more menu planning ideas, check out Org Junkie’s Menu Planning Monday.
Published in: on October 19, 2008 at 7:46 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2008/10/19/menu-plan-monday-oct19/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My family loves baked Oatmeal!
    Hope you have a great week!

  2. I really enjoy the smell of homebaked bread. It creates a comforting feeling in one’s home.


Leave a Reply

