Help for the flu season, part 3

OK, here are some things that work for us to keep us healthier during flu season. I’m not saying that we don’t get sick at all, BUT these things help.

  1. Limit sugar intake – see my previous flu season post. (And you wonder why people get sick with all the sweets that are given out at Christmastime.)
  2. Get plenty of sleep before midnight. Melatonin, a chemical that your body naturally produces, is produced during the dark hours of night. Melatonin helps your immunity levels. Usually if I get sick, I can trace it back to not getting enough sleep.
  3. Wash your hands well! And don’t touch contaminated surfaces. (Such as public restroom doorknobs or even light switches – use a paper towel or something.) In addition, I carry a bottle of hand sanitizer in my purse. This helps if I shake hands with somebody who has sneezed at church or something gross like that. It’s also great to use when we eat out. My favorite kind of hand sanitizer is from Bath and Body Works. It is wonderful because it doesn’t dry out your hands, and it can smell good (depending on the scent that you use.) I also keep a pump bottle of Hand Sanitizer in my office. When coworkers are sick, I use that several times a day.
  4. Partake in immunity helps. I usually carry a container of Airborne in my purse and if I feel the slightest bit like I am coming down with something, I take some. Or if my coworkers are sick, I take a a couple of cups of that throughout the day as prevention. I also carry Boiron’s Coldcalm and take that if I feel like I’m coming down with a cold. I’ve found that if I wait until I’ve come down with a bug before taking Airborne, it’s not effective. I know there was debatability about whether it cures a cold, but I think Airborne’s greatest strength is if it’s taken at the onset of any symptoms.
  5. My husband usually gets a flu shot. He works at the hospital and is around sick people all the time. The thing about the flu shot is that flu viruses morph into various types and shapes and the folk who make the flu vaccines just guess which strains of the virus will come around this season. And sometimes the vaccine doesn’t contain the same strains and the virus makes people sick anyway. In my opinion, it’s a hit-and-miss thing. I haven’t gotten the flu vaccine before. I haven’t decided if I will, either.
  6. If we feel like we’re on the edge of getting sick, we try hot-and-cold showers. I do my showers for 3 minutes hot, 30 seconds cold, for 3-5 times and then end on cold. Then I go to bed for a bit.

Now, I have to say, I don’t have kids so I don’t know, you’ll have to modify these to fit your own family and your own needs. We’re just a young couple. So, likely scenario, we’ll deal with kid modifications later…

Finally, if all else fails and one of us gets sick, well, you’ll have to come back and see what we do! I’ll give you a hint: we take herbs, we occasionally use charcoal, we drink certain types of tea, and we do hydrotherapy. 

This is what works for me this week! Check out Rocks in My Dryer for more great tips.

Published in: on November 25, 2008 at 8:42 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2008/11/25/help-for-the-flu-season-part-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I always amazed at how rarely people wash their hands. Come on, it’s just common sense…right? Thanks for the relevant post!

  2. Thanks for sharing your tips! We limit sweets around here, too, and start with Vitamin C at the start of the cold season. I take it year round, since I have allergies, asthma, and 3 kids and I’m the most likely to get sick the most often. 🙂 The kids (as well as my dh and I) each have separate hand towels, and that seems to help prevent the wrong kind of sharing, too.

  3. Rebeckah – you would think it WOULD be common sense… but apparently common sense is becoming increasingly uncommon. 🙂
    Amy – I like that idea of separate hand towels! I also try to take Vitamin C if I’m coming down with something… that’s another good thing to be taking!

  4. About the vaccine – even though it may not have the exact same strain as what eventually comes around, you do still get some protection anyway. And they’ve shown that people who still catch the flu after the vaccine have a much lighter, shorter course than those who don’t. So I definitely recommend getting it – especially if you live with anyone who is at high risk for developing complications from the flu – those who are older, or infants, or anyone with lung conditions like asthma or any other chronic disease like heart disease or diabetes.

  5. Great tips!
    My three kids just had the flu, one after the other. I wish I’d seen this list of tips before it was too late! I should try a couple of these myself because the bug is probably waiting to take me down too, and being a mom the sick days are rather inconvenient.


Leave a Reply

