Breakfast savings

I never knew how expensive cereal was until I started my own home. My husband loves cereal, and some of his particular favorites include Weetabix (which averages $4-something-a-box for the organic biscuits), Grape Nuts, and Raisin Bran. Yeah. They’re not what I call cheap. (And he goes through it quickly!)

On the other hand, I love granola and I can make it at home and it lasts me awhile.

But I had to think of something QUICK and EASY that I could just throw on the table in the morning before running out the door to work. Oh, and it also had to be economical/ frugal.

So I figured out that hot cereal is a great way to go. Here’s what I do for my “hot cereal special”:

Combine 1/4 cup each of the following options:

  • whole wheat berries
  • oat groats
  • brown rice
  • millet
  • amaranth (actually this stuff is strong flavored and I only like a tablespoon or two. See how you like it. My brother loves it!)
  • Any other whole grains that you and your family like!

I usually put about 1 1/2 cup worth of the above options in my slow cooker (my slow cooker isn’t very large). Add about 6 cups of water (depends on how fast your slow cooker cooks and if your grains will dry out) and set it on “low” and let it cook overnight.

The next morning, about 1 hour before serving, I add a handful or two of raisins and the same for sweetened coconut. (You can add other dried fruits like small dried pineapple but watch the cost because it can add up!) Sprinkle a little salt and mix everything up.

Then, in your blender, add 1 -2 cups water, 1/2 to 1 cup date pieces, dried milk powder, and a little honey. (I use nondairy milk powder. Use whatever works for you.) Blend it until it is smooth. Taste it. It should be pretty sweet. This is your sweetener for the hot cereal.

Stir most of the blended date sauce into the hot cereal, and let the slow cooker cook for another hour or so. Serve! It should be pleasantly sweet.

See, now you saved some money, you avoided sugar which lowers immune systems, and you had a quick and easy breakfast!

For more ways to save, visit Biblical Womanhood.

Published in: on January 15, 2009 at 3:57 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/01/15/breakfast-savings/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is the frugal & healthiest way to go! I love warm cereal in the morning. Thanks for the recipe. I do have to say I am a bit weary, I burnt oatmeal once in the crockpot!! wow! Was that a mess!! I promise I will follow the directions!! Have a wonderful week!

  2. Sagemanor, one thing you can do to keep hot cereal from sticking is to make sure enough water is added. I also spray my slow cooker with nonstick cooking spray before adding any of the grains or water. It seems to help. I should also mention that this recipe is very flexible. You can add more or less sweetener as you see fit, or other dried fruits, etc.
    Good luck!

  3. Oatmeal is about the only hot cereal we eat around here. That is why I make pancakes and such. Those are nice hardy breakfast too.

  4. […] I have to confess that I usually don’t cook hot breakfasts like this on the mornings that I go to work. This was on a weekend. If I do cook a hot breakfast, it is this hot cereal (click here).  […]

  5. […] will be hot cereal at least part of the week. Maybe waffles or smoothie and muffins for the next part of the […]


Leave a Reply

