My first recycling experience

So, this year I’m trying to go green, and that means I’m going to start recycling.

I should give you a bit of history. I have been intending to recycle for quite awhile. Last week, I cleaned out a messy corner of my kitchen where I had been stacking all these bottles that I intended to recycle. And you know if you follow FlyLady’s system of organization that February is the clutter elimination month, and they are doing the “Super Fling Boogie.” So I decided it was high time to actually recycle all those bottles.

Now, we don’t drink wine in our house. We drink sparkling juice, however, and I had all these Martinelli bottles piling up along with sparkling juice bottles from Trader Joe’s. I had at least 8 bottles. I think I had saved some of those Martinelli bottles since last summer. :-0

Dreadful, I know.

Procrastination is hideous. (Shudder.) In my defense, I procrastinate about very few things. When I was in school, I used to finish my research papers way in advance. But when it comes to recycling, you know, it’s just really hard to get the bottles in the car and remember to drop them off.

So on Friday I had a massage scheduled and so I decided to swing by the recyling booth thingy that is in the parkling lot of our local supermarket. Which, coincidentally, is about 1 minute away by car. I could have walked the bottles there.

Anyway, after so many months of procrastination, I arrived at the recycling booth (one minute away from my house.) I plunked the jars into one of the big rubber containers. The guy asked, “Are those your bottles?” pointing to a bag containing about 8 more Martinelli bottles.

“No,” I said.

The guy asked several other people who were standing around if the bottles belonged to anyone. Then he told me, “Why don’t you add those to your container.”

So I added the other neglected bottles to my container of bottles.

The guy swung the container onto a scale-looking kind of machine. “Two-twenty-nine!” He announced.

Having never recycled before, I suddenly wondered, am I supposed to pay for recycling?! I thought I got money back. Um, well, maybe I don’t get money back and I have to pay him. I began fishing in my wallet for $2.29.

I confessed to the guy, “I’ve never done this before. I don’t know if I have enough cash. Do I pay you?”

He said, “Oh no! I give you this piece of paper and then you go over to the grocery store and give this to them and they give you $2.29. Or you can have it subtracted from your grocery bill.”

Ooooops. I felt sooooooo dumb!

But relieved. I wasn’t carrying cash, so this was quite a relief.

Anyway, if you recycle regularly, you probably think I was incredibly stupid, and I’ll be the first to admit that I had no clue what I was doing. But hey, at least now I know how to recycle. And I get $2.29 off my grocery bill! 🙂

And if you haven’t ever recycled, I’ll tell you that it’s really quite simple. Just remember, they give you money.

Published in: on February 9, 2009 at 8:50 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/02/09/my-first-recycling-experience/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

