Dairy-free pancakes and sugar-free fruit sauce

img_1722

I have to confess that I usually don’t cook hot breakfasts like this on the week mornings that I go to work. This picture on the left was taken on a weekend. If I do cook a hot breakfast, it is this hot cereal (click here). However, I made pancakes this evening and made enough for later this week. So I am joining in in the ways I can. 

Pancakes:

2 cups whole wheat flour (or I like mixing regular whole wheat with King Arthur’s white whole wheat flour)

1 t. salt

2 T. honey

2 T. Ener-G baking powder (or a little less other baking powder – I prefer aluminum-free brands such as Rumford or Featherweight)

2 1/4 cups water

 

Blend all together in a blender or with a wire whip or with an electric hand mixer. Let sit 5 minutes to become foamy.

Pour onto hot griddle or hot nonstick pan (I usually spray with nonstick spray anyway). Cook until golden brown on each side.

Variation: add 1 cup blueberries to the batter or sprinkle in a few carob (or chocolate) chips

The picture above is these pancakes with berry sauce on top with scrambled tofu on the side (I’ll have to post that recipe another time.)

The berry sauce is very easy, and yummy! It’s sugar-free, too. What you’ll need:

1 can frozen apple juice concentrate

1 bag (?? size?? well, not too big. Sorta small – maybe around 4 cups or 1 quart) frozen berries

1 or 2 tablespoons cornstarch

a little bit of water

Put the apple juice concentrate in a pot on the stove. Turn on the burner and place your berries in the melting apple juice concentrate. Mix the cornstarch in a cup with a little bit of water (about 1/3 to 1/2 cup is good) until lumps are all gone and set aside. When the mixture comes to a good boil, add the cornstarch mixture, being sure to stir it again before adding to the pot as cornstarch tends to settle at the bottom. The fruit mixture should thicken right away! Serve on your favorite pancakes, waffles, or even on toast with nut butter.

If you want more great hot-breakfast ideas, please visit the Happy Housewife’s website.

Published in: on February 10, 2009 at 7:52 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/dairy-free-pancakes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The fruit sauce looks & sounds wonderful. So often I just chop up some fruit & put it on top, but I think the kids would enjoy this as a change of pace.
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. That looks really good. I am always looking for good ww recipes so I will have to try your pancake one.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Toni

  3. […] served this with my sugar-free fruit sauce. So there you have it — a healthy, hot breakfast with only natural sweetener  — basically, no […]

  4. […] pictures above are my pancakes and also my cranberry-currant bread. I made the pancakes this afternoon because I needed to design […]

  5. […] Pancakes for breakfast, with strawberry sauce, banana and grapefruit […]


Leave a Reply

