Memories of writing

545144_36719897When I was a kid, (oh man, this is making me sound old – which I’m really not), I had a ton of pen-pals. Or at least 20.

And then I went away to boarding academy and got too busy to keep up with them all. I’ve recently been connecting with some on some social networks, but for the most part, I’ve lost track of many of them. 😦

After boarding academy, I used a Yahoo Groups thingy to keep up with my old classmates from there. That worked for about a year or two. But then we all got too busy with college (and some people never wrote on there).

Now we’ve resorted to Facebook. And that’s about all. Occasionally, I talk on the phone with my friends.

But the written word has ceased to exist, except in status updates and much tagging in notes. It’s pathetic, really.

I came across this article over at Ragan Communications today. It fascinates me that this person take the time and effort to write letters to people she sees all the time (calls, texts, etc.) Wow! And people still appreciate it.

Boy, did that make me want to pick up a pen and paper or card. I still need to write thank you notes from Christmas! Maybe I’ll start there…

Published in: on February 10, 2009 at 4:51 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/02/10/memories-of-writing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

