French toast, dairy-free style

img_2691I edited this recipe a bit. It was originally from the CHIP (Coronary Heart Improvement Program) cookbook but I changed it a bit and I think it turned out yummy!

I got the idea for the baguette because one of my coworkers brought French toast to work one day for breakfast, and it was super-yummy. He used French bread (which had never crossed my mind. You’d think that I would put two and two together… French toast… French bread, but no. Ahem, moving on.) And as I was trying to figure out what I could do for breakfast this particular morning this week, I thumbed through my Native Foods cookbook and discovered a yummy-looking French toast recipe and I decided to use their idea of almond flavoring. Hence, the addition of almond flavoring. 

 

 

1 pkg (12 oz) silken tofu, firm, lite

3/4 cup water

1 tablespoon maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon almond extract

1 long skinny baguette loaf (I used the whole grain artisan baguette from Stater Brothers)

1. Place tofu, water, maple syrup, salt, vanilla, and almond extract in the blender and blend until smooth. Pour mixture into a flat-bottom dish (I use a pie pan.)

2. Preheat a frying pan (I used nonstick although I know there is some debate out there about the healthfulness of teflon. Well, I’m not getting to that point yet, so excuse moi but I used a nonstick pan. 😛 ) 

3. Dip one slice of the baguette in the blended tofu mixture, making sure the slice of bread is coated well. I actually soaked each piece in the batter for about 5 minutes before frying.

4. Fry each piece until golden brown on all sides.

5. Repeat process until all the tofu batter has been used. This uses 1 entire long skinny baguette, or 1 loaf of bread.

I served this with my sugar-free fruit sauce. So there you have it — a healthy, hot breakfast with only natural sweetener  — basically, no refined sugar at all! Perfect for keeping everybody’s immunity up during flu season. This is supposed to serve 6 people.

For more hot breakfast ideas, stop by the Happy Housewife’s site!

Published in: on February 17, 2009 at 9:21 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/02/17/french-toast-dairy-free-style/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Interesting idea. Not sure if I would use tofu as I am not dairy free, but I like the idea of using the baguette loaf!
    Toni

  2. I just popped over from the Mr. Linky at The Happy Housewife. I am looking for non-dairy breakfast ideas, and might have to try this. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

