Gratituesday – wisdom from parents, mentors, and other sources…

I’ve been mulling over the idea of wise parents and counselors ever since last evening. My DH and I aren’t parents yet, but we were asked to counsel with a young lady (a cousin of one of our friends). The young lady is about to leave home and “run away” to be with her boyfriend across the country. She just wants to get away from her parents and be independent and be on her own.

What a heart-wrenching saga last night as we sat around with some other married couples and discussed/ pled with the young woman to reconsider her decision! I don’t think we made much of a difference, unfortunately, because she was so headstrong and defiant. (You can pray for her if you like.)

This morning at work, because I work at a Christian ministry, we have a worship time together as staff. One of the staff members played a video with “Jesus loves me” background music showing his wife, his kids, and him playing and spending time together. His kids are so young and impressionable. I couldn’t help but imagine that the young lady last night in a similar enjoyable setting with her parents 14 or so years ago. Thinking over last night’s conversation and my own choices that I’ve made (fortunately, with God’s help, they have been wise choices), it almost brought tears to my eyes. What a contrast.

Thinking about the two contrasts and doing my own introspection, I’m truly thankful for the wise parents that I have, the amazing husband that God has blessed me with, and the opportunities that I have had to make wise choices based on God’s Word and wisdom from people with many diverse experiences.

I’m reminded of the verse in Proverbs 24:6, “… in multitude of counsellors there is safety.”

I am so thankful for parents, mentors, spiritual leaders, and the excellent examples in the Bible, from which the wise can learn!

*EDIT* Praise the Lord, I just received word that the young woman decided to stay after all and not run away (now, anyway). Please keep her in prayer as she contemplates the future!

Published in: on February 24, 2009 at 9:37 am  Comments (1)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/02/24/gratituesday-thankful-for-wisdom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I agree with you … the wise learn from those God has placed in their life, and I’m so thankful that you are wise like that. The Bible tells it plain and simple in Proverbs 12:15:

    The way of a fool seems right to him,
    but a wise man listens to advice.

    I’m glad you had the opportunity to speak to the young lady last night. Maybe it will make a difference in her thinking … even if it’s down the road a bit.


Leave a Reply

