My new sea cow!

I’ve become great friends with my new sea cow over the last few days. Well, it’s not really a sea cow. It’s my new recipe software, called YummySoup! (by Hungry Sea Cow software company).

I bought it several months ago, but with Org Junkie’s month-long emphasis on recipe organization, I decided it was high time to put some more of my recipes on the computer. 

You see, a few years ago, I was a poor college student. What I did for Christmas presents that year (for my mom and grandma) was I typed up our family favorite recipes, printed them, stuffed them in sheet protectors, and put them in binders and gave them to them for Christmas. They loved the binders. I still like my binder. However, the system isn’t quite working for me – it needs to be reorganized – and I want pictures to go with my recipes, etc. 

So over this last weekend, I started typing up my newest recipe favorites in YummySoup! and adding pictures for the ones I’ve photographed. 

I totally love it! My mom has been trying to get me to use it more frequently. Now I’m convinced! We can trade recipe files back and forth over e-mail easily and import the recipes.  Here are some of its cool features:

  • I can customize the ingredients that I use often and it auto-fills easily.
  • I can drag-and-drop pictures into my recipe files.
  • I can easily import recipes from the internet. SO EASY. I love it. AllRecipe.com automatically imports. Others that don’t automatically import, I can highlight several portions to be “ingredient lists”, “directions”, etc. and it automatically makes a perfect recipe file! Wow. So user friendly. 
  • If I want to cook off a recipe on my laptop, I can use full-screen mode. Not that I would do that.
  • If I want to, I could even use my Apple remote and voice recognition. I haven’t tried that yet, but it’s supposedly possible.
  • I can trade recipes back and forth with whoever has YummySoup! software via e-mail. We can import each other’s recipes easily. If people don’t have YummySoup!, I can still send them rich text formatted e-mails with my recipe.
  • I think you are supposed to be able to use a grocery list function, as well. There’s so much I’m still learning, but I am totally smitten with this software! 
  • You can have smart lists where you can search for recipes with certain ingredients. 
  • Best of all, the price tag is amazingly affordable. It’s only $20!

There’s just one catch. You have to have a MAC to use this incredible software!

(By the way, nobody paid me to do this promotion for Yummy Soup! Nor am I giving software away. I am just totally loving using it, and for the Mac users out there who have been searching for good recipe software, your search is over. I just highly recommend getting yourself a copy!)

This post is linked at Kitchen Tip Tuesdays.

Published in: on March 2, 2009 at 8:43 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/03/02/my-new-sea-cow/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You had me convinced to go buy this until I read that you have to have a MAC *L* It sounds neat though!

  2. Bummer. I’m a PC user, but this software sounds wonderful.

  3. ooohhh, I might have to try this….and I have a Mac laptop and I do use it for recipes….off to check it out. Thanks.

  4. I just wanted to let you know I downloaded the trial and loaded a recipe on it. I love it and think I’m going to buy it. It sure makes it easy to organize my recipes. I’m so glad you posted this.

  5. Kirstin, glad you are enjoying YummySoup! It takes a few recipes to get the hang of it, but I think I’m addicted! lol. Once I get more of my recipes in there, I plan to start using the grocery list feature, too.


Leave a Reply

