Welcome to my blog party! Yee haw…

Ultimate Blog Party 2009

Hi there!

Welcome to my corner of the blogosphere. 🙂 C’mon in and visit for a couple of minutes!

img_1849

My name is Joelle. I am not a mom. (At this point. But I do love kids!) I’m married to a resident physician (affectionately known as “dh” on this blog). We live in the Western U.S. in a very urban area. (I miss country living, having lived in the country until moving here! Hopefully we can get back to that at some point in life.)

I work in marketing full-time 4 days a week at a nonprofit humanitarian ministry. We’re Christians, so I do write posts about my spiritual thoughts from time to time. 

On my blog, I chat about my culinary/ health pursuits, along with a few other interests along the way. I do a lot of cooking. I’d say it’s weekend cooking, because I don’t do a whole lot the rest of the week as I am quite tired when I get home. I cook vegetarian food and have specific interests in non-dairy and low-sugar options. So if you’re a veggie or fruit lover, hop on into the conversation! I love getting ideas for food from others. (And if you’re not a vegetarian, hop on into the conversation anyway, because I just might make your dish idea into a vegetarian adaptation! Mmmm hmmm, you probably didn’t think that was possible…) I just love going to a restaurant and contemplating how I can vegetarianize or veganize a recipe…

img_1701

img_1722

img_2691Blueberry pie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m quite interested in green and simple living. I have a miniature garden in my urban part of town, on my porch. (Don’t have a yard.) 

We’re also on a journey to get out of debt, so from time to time I blog about finances and frugal options.

Feel free to come back and visit me regularly to see what I’m up to! Since I work outside the home, I blog once or twice a week, typically, so rest assured, I won’t overwhelm your Google Reader or Feedburner. (But when I do blog, it’ll be worthwhile.) You can also follow me on Twitter.

Hop on back to 5 Minutes for Mom to continue the party! Nice chatting – and do come again! 🙂

*Edit: Here are my top picks for the prizes… (um, I don’t think I’ve ever won anything, but hey, worth a try, right?!) And they are in order of preference. Ahem, here we go. (So many interesting things…)

  • #89, $100 gift certificate to HomeGoods provided by HGOpenhouse – this place looks like it has some great stuff in my style. Love what they have to offer! AND I think we have one not to far away from where we live…
  • #7, Ergo baby carrier. (You know, for the baby I don’t have. Nothin’ wrong with planning ahead.) Provided by A Giveaway Addicted Mommy.
  • #19, $50 gift card to Target provided by ShootMeNow

Now, in the unlikely event that I get picked… and the likely event that my top 3 choices are already spoken for, here are a few others I’d be interested in winning (yep, in this order): #21, 22, 68, 91, 118, 86, 26, 34, 45, 53, 113, 123, 109, 104, 99,

Published in: on March 20, 2009 at 4:22 pm  Comments (32)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/03/20/welcome-to-my-blog-party/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

32 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am having so much fun at the Blog Party.. I am a new blogger, and this is my very first Blog Party.
    The dishes you hav e made on your site look yummy. I am not a fruit lover at all, I will eat about any veggie.
    I am Aunt Rene from auntrene.blogspot.com
    If you have the time stop by and leave a comment for a chance to win my Surprise Door Prize giveaway. It was last minute which is why it is a Surprise to even me.
    I will think of something clever.
    Have fun at the party, I am….

  2. Welcome to the party. Nice to meet you. Good for you for cooking so healthily.

  3. Yum!! I’m so hungry now. Unfortunately I’m going to go get a hamburger. But hope you can stop by my blog. I’ve got some book giveaways!

    Party

  4. I’m also a non-Mom participating in the party so I wanted to say hi. It looks like we’ve got a lot of the same interests so I look forward to reading your blog!

    Enjoy the party!

  5. I’m party hopping! Hope to see you at my party!

  6. Yee Haw backatcha! Found you via the UBP!!!
    Love your cute blog!! We like eating meatless meals.

    #ubp09 @5minutesformom http://tinyurl.com/d824vc got my party ON!

  7. Hi, I’m a Registered Dietitian and healthy eating is very important to me. I like your blog. I’m a coupon blogger. It’s been fun to check out other blogs. Take care-Monica

  8. Joelle
    Thanks for stopping by my blog (and inadvertently leading me back to yours!) I love the content and premise of your blog. I’ve been experiementing with vegan and vegetarian meals for about a month now, and it seems like a whole new world of food options has opened up to me. (although I still enjoy a good steak, so don’t hate me.) I look forward to being a regular reader.

  9. I am new to the blog world. I am from Shreveport, La.
    I love a good party and this is my first BLOG party.
    So glad that I found your blog. Hope you will come by and visit me.
    Teresa

  10. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I wanted to pop over and say hello. I love the colors on your blog. Wasn’t it nice of the 5 Minutes for Mom folks to match the UBP button so nicely to your blog? 😉

  11. Your dishes look delicious! Thanks for sharing the french toast recipe…. I can’t do eggs, dairy or gluten, so I will try it with some gluten free bread!

    I look forward to seeing more recipes soon!

  12. Nice to meet you!

    Talk about a party!

    I’m quite intrigued and am learning how to get around!

    Just stopping by from 5minutes for moms blog party!

  13. Hi! I’m just calling by at your blog for the party. Hope to see you at my blog soon 🙂
    Spring, a bonfire and a blog party
    I’m a vegetarian too and the food looks great! A yummy party!

  14. Hello! Stopping by from the blog party!! Nice to meet you. I just might have to stop back and look over some of your vege. recipes! I’m a Christian Mom of two girls age 5 and 7 and am also vegetarian- not vegan though- so not sure if I’m classified as Vegetarian if I eat fish.?? Anyways, nice to meet you. Stop by my blog parties if you get a chance-
    God’s Shining Stars
    Creative and Curious Kids!

    Jen

  15. Hi Joelle! This is Ashley from “Missionary Moms” and I just wanted to say hi, thanks for stopping by my blog, and I love yours too! What a great idea! I was raised vegetarian, so I still cook primarily with out meat, though we do eat meat sometimes. I look forward to seeing more of you recipes! I also hope my blog can be an encouragement to you as you prepare for you future overseas. How exciting! Great to meet you!

  16. Your food pics look delicious! I’ve just stopped by for the Blog Party. Thanks for having me!
    Ruby

  17. Great party post. This blog party is such a great way to meet new people. Hope you enjoy the rest of the week.
    Pop over and say hi sometime. Blessings!

  18. Finally getting caught up from the UBP09–thank you for visiting my party!

    Just realized that I was over here earlier today and commented on your kale post. I’m following you on Twitter now (GettingFreedom)–I’m looking forward to reading you!

    Happy Partying!

  19. Just stopping by from the UBP! Your site is really nice!

  20. I am doing some blog-hopping with the UBP and having a great time. I love all of the photos of your cooking creations. I’ll have to come back for some recipes. I try to buy as much organic foods as my budget will allow and I am obsessed about getting veggies into my children. I am also always looking for ways to eat well on a budget. By the way, I am giving away prize #118! Good luck!

  21. Your food dishes look wonderful. So glad I just ate 😉 Now, where are the recipes!

    I’m not a vegetarian, but we don’t eat a lot of meat. I’m always on the lookout for something new, different, and easy.

    See you around the party!

  22. The food looks delish. Nice to meet you. Happy blog party week.

  23. Hi! Nice to meet you! Party hopping and participating too so stop in for a visit.

  24. Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

    Ta!

  25. Stopping by from UBP. It is very nice to meet you and your blog. I myself have a toddler learning/activity blog at http://www.superfunmama.blogspot.com. I would love for you to stop by sometime. I’m having fun visiting all the blogs. Have a magical day!

  26. Hi! Nice to meet you. Just stopping by UBP hopping.

  27. Hey,amzing site. Happy to be part of your party.

  28. Yum, I’m a vegetarian myself! What are those tasty dishes you are displaying there?

    Mom Most Traveled

  29. I am super excited to find your blog!! I am always looking for recipes for vegetarian and vegan meals!

  30. I’m late to the party as usual, but better late than never. I enjoy your blog and I’ll be back when I have more time.

  31. Yum great food pics!

  32. Congratulations! You are a prize winner. Stay tuned…


Leave a Reply

