Ironing issues

OK, so I have ironing issues. 

I am on my second iron in, like, 3 months. The first one, which I’d had for 3 years (and I bought it second hand) started snagging our clothes. Instead of ironing smoothly, it started catching on these little dent thingys in the bottom of the iron, which is, you know, supposed to be smooth… 

So I bought a new iron. And now, NOW, my new iron is starting to “catch” too. For shame! What on earth do I do?! And how did it get that way in the first place?!

HELP! Somebody… quick! (Um, if you have other random ironing tips, please do contribute. Maybe my ironing technique is wrong.) I really don’t want to go buy another new iron. Is there some way to get rid of those catchy dents? Can they be eliminated? And how do I prevent future ones? What works for you???

(Solve other people’s problems, too, at this week’s reverse WFMW.)

Published in: on March 31, 2009 at 7:47 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://healthynhappyhome.wordpress.com/2009/03/31/ironing-issues/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My only ironing tip is getting the laundry out of the dryer immediately and hanging it up before wrinkles can form. I *hate* ironing with a passion and can’t tell you the last time I ironed something.

  2. Are you following the directions for what type of water you add to the iron? Some say distilled, while others specifically say to avoid distilled. It really makes a difference in preventing mineral buildup in/on your iron. I’m thinking the snags may actually be caused by this build up and not by the little vents themselves?

  3. I wonder if it could be some sort of build-up from the water? We have fairly hard water and I deal with a slight build up. Research your iron online and see what the manufacturer recommends. Sometimes they suggest distilled water instead of tap water. Hope this helps!

  4. I’ll have to check into the water thing… often I don’t use water but I use a separate spray bottle and mist water on the clothes. (I wonder if that causes the problem??)
    I looked at the iron (well, both of the old one and new one are like this) and there are actual little scratches around the edges of the iron. Running my fingers over the edges of the scratches, I can see how they would catch… but not sure how that happened?

  5. You could try one of these http://www.nonstickkitchen.com/store/product_details.asp?pId=14

    I probably wouldn’t iron at all if I didn’t have this:)

  6. Are you the only one that uses the iron? Where do you keep it (maybe it’s getting scratched by something around it). Maybe it’s something you’re ironing that’s doing it (a shirt with some sort of embelishment maybe?)

  7. Hi Joelle,

    Thanks for the comment and recommendation. I think my In-Laws have a Strong’s Concordance. I’ll have to borrow it. I look forward to digging in!

    Thanks again,
    Rachel

  8. I don’t know about the scratches, but there is a product that you can buy at stores like Wal-Mart to clean the bottom of your iron. It comes in a package of two little tubes. It is from Faultless. http://www.amazon.com/Faultless-40105-Hot-Iron-Cleaner/dp/B000BPEPJG
    Good luck with it.


Leave a Reply

